Bridie's Fire

Murray, Kirsty

Our Price
Retail Price AUD$15.95
Your Price
In Stock (1)
Dispatch: 1 day

Bridie's Fire/Murray, Kirsty/Paper/1865087270/S012-G


Gift Wrapping
Add Gift Wrapping (click checkbox)

If you would like a gift wrapping message, please add it in the Notes section on the checkout page, thank you.
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
ISBN-13: 9781865087276
Series: Children of the Wind, Book 1
Binding: Paperback
Year Published: 2004
The first of four true-to-life historical adventures, this is a compelling story about a fiery Irish girl who leaves Ireland when her parents die in the potato famine, to make a life for herself in goldrush Australia.

Bridie's world is torn apart when her parents and baby brother die in the Great Hunger. She leaves Ireland, and strikes out alone to claim a life for herself in Australia, on the other side of the ocean.

Bridie looked up at the swirling stars. It was as if the sky and the whole world was opening up before her. In her rough boy's clothes, she wasn't Bridie O'Connor, an Irish waif. She wasn't an orphan girl at sea, a stranger in a new land. She wasn't even a servant any more. She had money in her leather pouch, a swag full of food and a good companion. She could be a whole new Bridie. Nothing could quench the fire in her now.

The first of four sweeping adventures, Bridie's Fire makes history leap off the page. A heartwarming story of courage and resilience, it affirms Kirsty Murray's keen understanding of the human spirit.

The Children of the Wind quartet is a sweeping Irish-Australian saga made up of Bridie's story, Patrick's story, Colm's story and Maeve's story, four inter-linked novels for 10- to 14-year-olds. The central character from each story will appear as a mentor to the child in the next.
ID: 20654
Code: AD000712